

NZCS 2018 Annual General Meeting

Date: Tuesday 21 August 2017

Meeting opened: 7:28 pm

Venue: Upstairs function room, Horse and Trap 3 Enfield St, Auckland 1024

Chair: Richard Bluck NZCS

Present

John Blick NZCS
John Mahaffie NZCS
Leon Narby NZCS
Amber Wakefield
Aaron Morton NZCS
Sigi Spath Jnr
Denson Baker
Nina Wells

Guy Quartermain Paul Richards Bevan Crothers Simon Raby Ainsley Calderwood Grant Baker Elizabeth Hoyle Zane Egginton

Donny Duncan Adam Stewart-Hogg Graham Morris Murray Milne NZCS Mairi Gunn Chris McKenzie Chloe Smith

Minutes

1. Apologies

Dave Cameron NZCS ACS Cushla Lewis David Paul NZCS Dennis Thompson Tory Evans Mark Lapwood ACS
John Toon NZCS

2. Minutes the previous AGM

2.1. Motion: that the minutes of the 2017 AGM be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Murray Milbe Carried Unanimously Seconded:

Guy Quartermine

3. The President's report

3.1. Motion: that the president's report (presented verbally copy attached) be adopted.

Moved: Mairi Gunn Seconded: John Blick

Carried Unanimously

Murray Milne expressed our gratitude to Richard Bluck on behalf of the society, for his long standing efforts as President. A gift (cinematography book) was passed to Richard in appreciation for the work and time put in over his tenure.

4. The Treasurer's report on the finances of the Society, and the Statement of Accounts

- 4.1. Annual Report and financial statements copies provided
- 4.2. Motion: The Treasurer's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts be adopted.

Moved: Paul Richards Seconded: Chloe Smith

Carried Unanimously

5. Role of secretary/treasurer

5.1. Motion: The role of Secretary and Treasurer be combined (rule 5.1.c)

Moved: Paul Richards Seconded: Chloe Smith

Carried Unanimously

6. Election of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer

6.1. Nominations received to date:

President: Simon Raby

Vice President: Nina Wells

Treasurer/Secretary: Murray Milne NZCS

No nomintaions received from the floor.

6.2. Election of officers

Paul Richards seconded above nominations and the positions were declared as elected unopposed.

7. Election of Committee Members

7.1. Consider how large the committee shall be (rule 5.1.a) Consider how long each person will be a Committee Member ('the Term') apart from the President (see rule 9.1)

Motion: that the management committee shall not exceed 14. And that the elected members of the management committee shall serve until the next AGM

Moved: Murray Milne Seconded: John Mahaffie

- 7.2. A call for committee nominations from the floor resulted in the following:
 - Drew Sturge nominated by Paul Richards and seconded by Murray Milne
 - Dave Garbett nominated by Donny Duncan and seconded by Murray Milne
 - Ainsley Calderwood nominated by Murray Milne and seconded by Simon Raby
 - Victoria Evans nominated by Cushla Lewis and seconded by Guy Quartermain
 - Bevan Crothers nominated by Murray Milne and seconded by Guy Quartermain
 - Some of the current committee members were available for re-election and were nominated by Richard Bluck second by Murray Milne

7.3. Elect Committee

The following committee members were then declared elected unopposed

2018 Current committee:

Donny DuncanAinsley CalderwoodMark Lapwood ACSChloe SmithDave GarbettDavid Paul NZCSGuy QuartermainCushla LewisMarc SwadelVictoria EvansBevan CrothersDrew Sturge

8. Auditor

8.1. Motion: That no auditor be appointment for the current financial year but the management committee may appoint an auditor if it believes it is warranted.

Moved: Paul Richards Seconded: Donny Duncan

Carried Unanimously

9. General business.

The meeting engaged in a wide-ranging informal discussion including possible future plans for:

- Camera Pathways Programme
- Focus on inclusivness of more gender and ethnic diversity
- Other Professional development like workshops or speaking at school institutions
- Positive reinforcement of the NZCS Awards

No decisions were taken but members were reminded of the importance of providing feedback to committee members about the direction of NZCS and issues such as the ones discussed.

The meeting closed at 8:28 pm