

NZCS 2020 Annual General Meeting

Date: Tuesday 16 June 2020

Time: Opened 7:35 pm, Closed 8:45 pm

Venue: Upstairs function room, Horse and Trap, 3 Enfield St, Auckland 1024

Chair: Murray Milne NZCS

Present

Murray Milne NZCS **Aaron Morton NZCS** Nina Wells Amber Wakefield

Donny Duncan NZCS Ainsley Calderwood

Michael Paletta Adam Stewart Hogg Drew Sturge DJ Stipsen **Bode Riis**

Mark Lapwood ACS

Ziga Zupancic Will Proser Richard Harling **Callum Thomas** Bailey Broom-Peake

Mark Minors

Paul Lake Ian McCarroll Kirk Pflaum John Ross

Minutes

1. Apologies

Tory Evans extends her apologies and appoints Nina Wells as her proxy. David Paul NZCS extends his apologies and appoints Murray Milne NZCS as his proxy. Simon Raby NZCS, Marc Swadel, Bevan Crothers, Neil Cervin, Gerry Vasbenter, Milon Tesiram, Guy Quartermain, Peter Field and Grant Baker also send their apologies.

2. Minutes the previous AGM

2.1. Motion: that the minutes of the 2019 AGM be confirmed as a true and accurate record. Moved: Drew Sturge, Secondned: Aaron Morton NZCS

3. The President's report

- 3.1. President's report.
- 3.2. Executive Officer report.
- 3.3. Proffessisonal Developmentreport

Motion: that the president's report be adopted.

Moved: Mark Lapwood ACS, Secondned: Michael Paletta

4. The Treasurer's report on the finances of the Society, and the Statement of Accounts

- 4.1. Annual Report and financial statements copies provided
- 4.2. Motion: The Treasurer's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts be adopted *Moved: Paul Richards Secondned: Micahel Paletta*

5. Election of President, Vice President and Treasurer

5.1. Nominations received prior to AGM:

President – Aaron Morton NZCS Vice President – Nina Wells Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS

No nominations were received from the floor.

5.2 Election of officers

President - Aaron Morton NZCS

Moved: Unanimous

Vice President - Nina Wells

Moved: Unanimous

Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS

Moved: Unanimous

Positions were declared as elected unopposed.

6. Election of Committee Members

6.1. We considered how large the committee shall be (rule 5.1.a) and how long each person will be a Committee Member ('the Term') apart from the President (see rule 9.1)
Motion: that the management committee shall be raised to 15 this year and that the elected members of the management committee shall serve until the next AGM.

Carried by a unanimous show of hands.

- 6.2. Call for committee nominations from the floor
 - Mark Minors expressed interest
 - Bayley Broome-Peake expressed interest

6.3. Elect Committee

- Michael Paletta
- Donny Duncan NZCS
- Tory Evans
- Drew Sturge
- Bevan Crothers
- Ainsley Calderwood
- Ian McCarrol
- Mark Lapwood ACS
- David Paul NZCS
- Marc Swadel
- Mark Minors
- Bayley Broome-Peake

The President called for a show of hands on each individual, all of which received well over a two-thirds vote from the room.

7. Auditor

7.1. Motion: That no auditor be appointed for the current financial year. The Rules requires that this note be put before the AGM. We have not appointed auditors in past years, and external charted accountants have prepared the accounts and tax returns.

Moved: Ainely Calderwood, Seconded: Nina Wells

8. General business

The meeting engaged in a wide-ranging informal discussion including topics of:

- In place of the NZCS Awards this year, it was questioned if we could have some other form of social gathering. Perhaps a celebration of partners who enable everyone to pursue this type of career. Another suggestion would be to have winner clips from previous Awards winners playing on loop on a big screen in the background.
- There was a comment about reestablishing our connections with the 14 film schools in NZ
- Positive feedback on the webinars and even more positive feedback about getting back into physical events and masterclasses.
- Scope to reach out to the regions more, such as Wellington and Christchurch.

No decisions were made, but members were reminded of the importance of providing feedback to committee members about the direction of NZCS and issues such as the ones discussed.

Meeting closed 8:45 PM