

NZCS 2021 Annual General Meeting

Date: Wednesday 15 September 2021 Time: Opened 7:00 pm, Closed 8:18 pm Venue: Via Zoom video conferencing Chair: Aaron Morton NZCS

Present

Aaron Morton NZCS Nina Wells Murray Milne NZCS Amber Wakefield Donny Duncan NZCS Ainsley Calderwood Victoria Evans Sebastian Cort Vikas Devarakonda Michael Paletta Adam Clark Drew Sturge Alyssa Kath Bayley Broome-Peake Mark Lapwood ACS Rhys Duncan Milon Tesiram Ziga Zupancic Will Proser Bevan Crothers Brett Smith David Paul NZCS Mark Minors James Moore Oliver Compton Will Wallace Callum Thomas Samuel Fraser John Ross Dean Thomas Richard Bluck NZCS Jon Waters Paul Mockridge

Minutes

1. Apologies

John Mahaffie, Waka Attewell, Chloe Smith, ohn Blick, Peter Field, Gerry Vasbenter, Lara Gamil and Simon Reiera send their apologies.

2. Minutes the previous AGM

2.1. Motion: that the minutes of the 2020 AGM be confirmed as a true and accurate record. *Moved: Nina Wells, Seconded: Murray Milne NZCS*

3. The President's report

- 3.1. President's report.
- 3.2. Executive Officer report

3.3. Professional Development report

Motion: that the president's report be adopted.

Moved: Michael Paletta, Seconded: Donny Duncan NZCS

4. The Treasurer's report on the finances of the Society, and the Statement of Accounts

4.1. Annual Report and financial statements – copies provided
4.2. Motion: The Treasurer's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts be adopted *Moved: Richard Bluck NZCS, Seconded: David Paul NZCS*

5. Election of President, Vice President and Treasurer

5.1. Nominations received prior to AGM:

President – Aaron Morton NZCS Vice President – Nina Wells Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS

No nominations were received from the floor.

5.2 Election of officers

President – Aaron Morton NZCS Moved: Unanimous Vice President – Nina Wells Moved: Unanimous Treasurer – Murray Milne NZCS Moved: Unanimous

Positions were declared as elected unopposed.

6. Election of Committee Members

6.1. We considered how large the committee shall be (rule 5.1.a) and how long each person will be a Committee Member ('the Term') apart from the President (see rule 9.1)Motion: that the management committee shall be raised to 16 this year and that the elected members of the management committee shall serve until the next AGM. *Carried by a unanimous show of hands.*

Ian McCarroll, Bevan Crothers, and David Paul NZCS depart the committee and we thanked them for you their service.

- 6.2. Call for committee nominations from the floor
 - Sebastian Cort expressed interest
 - John Ross expressed interest
 - Will Proser expressed interest
 - Andrew McGeorge expressed interest
 - Alyssa Kath expressed interest

6.3. Elect Committee

- Michael Paletta
- Donny Duncan NZCS
- Tory Evans
- Drew Sturge
- Ainsley Calderwood
- Mark Lapwood NZCS ACS
- Marc Swadel
- Mark Minors
- Bayley Broome-Peake
- Alyssa Kath
- Sebastian Cort

- Andrew McGeorge
- Will Proser

Carried by a unanimous show of hands.

7. Auditor

7.1. Motion: That no auditor be appointed for the current financial year. The Rules requires that this note be put before the AGM. We have not appointed auditors in past years, and external charted accountants have prepared the accounts and tax returns. *Moved: Ainsely Calderwood, Seconded: Nina Wells*

8. General business

The meeting engaged in a wide-ranging informal discussion including topics of:

- Feedback on the want for more events and more masterclasses a real focus on providing more professional development opportunities
- Scope to reach out to the regions more, such as Queenstown and Dunedin, for both events and professional development opportunities
- There was a discussing about re-establishing our connections with the film schools in NZ

No decisions were made, but members were reminded of the importance of providing feedback to committee members about the direction of NZCS and issues such as the ones discussed.

Meeting closed 8:18 PM